Oscars 2014 — Best Adapted Screenplay

Of the two screenplay categories, this is the easier one this year. 12 Years a Slave is a definite win, with nothing coming too close to beat it. The only previous nominees were the Before Midnight writers, nominated for their second entry to this trilogy.

  1. “12 Years a Slave” — John Ridley
  2. “Philomena” — Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope
  3. “The Wolf of Wall Street” — Terence Winter
  4. “Before Midnight” — Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke and Richard Linklater
  5. “Captain Phillips” — Billy Ray