Directors Guild Awards and American Society of Cinematographers – Winners List’s Below!

Both the Directors Guild Awards and American Society of Cinematographer awards were tonight, and we got a good look at what might get a stronger run up to the Oscars.

Lion‘s Garth Davis won for first time feature director; however, he was the only Oscar nominated feature in that category. As for main feature film, it was really a contest between La La Land (Damien Chazelle) and Moonlight (Barry Jenkins) which Chazelle picked up. Other nominees were Manchester by the Sea’s Kenneth Lonergan, Arrival‘s Denis Villeneuve, and Davis for Lion. This is another good indication for the Oscars best director category since 51 of the past 62 winners here have gone on to win the Academy Award. And as for documentary director? O.J. Made In America continued their winning streak here.

As for the ASC, the main feature film award will help determine the Academy’s thoughts for their own best cinematography award. In a bit of a surprise, Lion picked up the top prize over Arrival, La La Land, Moonlight, and Silence.

Check below for all the winners of DGA and ASC winners.

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Ridley Scott

Feature Film:

  • Damien Chazelle, La La Land

First-Time Feature Film:

  • Garth Davis, Lion

Documentary Feature Film:

  • Ezra Edelman, O.J.: Made In America

Movies in TV and Mini-Series:

  • Steven Zaillian, The Night Of, “The Beach” (HBO)

Drama Series

  • Miguel Sapochnik, Game of Thrones, “The Battle of the Bastards”

Comedy Series:

  • Becky Martin, Veep, “Inauguration”


  • Derek Cianfrance

Frank Capra Award:

  • Marie Cantin


  • Glenn Weiss, The 70th Annual Tony Awards

Reality Programs:

  • J. Rupert Thompson, American Grit, “The Finale Over the Falls” (Fox)

Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled Programming:

  • Don Roy King, Saturday Night Live

Children’s Programs:

  • Tina Mabry, An American Girl Story: Melody 1963: Love Has to Win

Theatrical Release

  • Greig Fraser, “Lion”

Television Movie, Miniseries or Pilot

  • Igor Martinovic, The Night Of, “Subtle Beast”

Presidents Award

  • Nancy Schreiber

ASC Board of Governors Award

  • Denzel Washington (for career achievement)

Regular Series for Commercial Television

  • Tod Campbell, Robot, “” (USA)

Spotlight Award

  • Gorka Gomez Andreu, House Of Others

International Award

  • Philippe Rousselot, ASC, AFC

Bud Stone Award of Distinction

  • Frank Kay and Bruce Berke

Regular Series for Non-Commercial Television

  • Fabian Wagner, Game of Thrones, “Battle of the Bastards”

Career Achievement in Television

  • Ron Garcia, ASC